The Museum of London presents a new display, Bluecoats in the City, which explores the story behind The City of London’s first orphanage and school, Christ’s Hospital.
In 1546, the former buildings and church of Greyfriars monastery in Newgate Street were given to the City of London for the benefit of the poor, elderly and sick. The buildings were used to establish Christ’s Hospital; founded in 1552 for the education of poor children. The School became known as the ‘Bluecoat School’ because of its distinctive uniform of navy coats and yellow stockings.
Since opening, Christ’s Hospital has now educated, lodged, fed and clothed more than 45,000 children, thanks to donations from the City of London and charitable benefactors. In 1902 the School moved from the City to the market town of Horsham. However its strong bonds to The City of London remain.
The Museum of London’s new free display, Bluecoats in the City, allows visitors a chance to discover more about the school and delves into the history behind the School’s creation, its iconic uniform, historic practices, charitable benefactors, and some of its famous pupils including Charles Lamb and Samuel Taylor Coleridge.
If you would like further information, visit the Museum of London website here
London Visitors is the official blog for the Visiting London Guide .com website. The website was developed to bring practical advice and latest up to date news and reviews of events in London.
Since our launch in 2014, we have attracted thousands of readers each month, the site is constantly updated.
We have sections on Museums and Art Galleries, Transport, Food and Drink, Places to Stay, Security, Music, Sport, Books and many more.
There are also hundreds of links to interesting articles on our blog.
To find out more visit the website here