Home » Classical Music » IIan Volkov and the BBC Symphony Orchestra at the Barbican – 17th February 2017

IIan Volkov and the BBC Symphony Orchestra at the Barbican – 17th February 2017



Rachmaninov’s final symphony concludes a concert that includes Franz Schreker’s interlude from his opera Der ferne Klang and a brand new work by Nicola LeFanu.

Nicola LeFanu will unveil her new RPS commission, a work for soprano and orchestra, with conductor Ilan Volkov on the podium. Opera composer Schreker’s beautiful Nachtstück opens the evening that closes with Rachmaninov’s last symphony, which pays homage to the composer’s Russian heritage.


Schrecker ‘Nachtstück’ from Der ferne Klang

Nicola LeFanu The Crimson Bird, for soprano and orchestra (RPS commission, world premiere)

Rachmaninov Symphony No 3


BBC Symphony Orchestra

Ilan Volkov conductor

Rachel Nicholls soprano

For more information , visit the Barbican website here

London Visitors is the official blog for the Visiting London Guide .com website. The website was developed to bring practical advice and latest up to date news and reviews of events in London.
Since our launch in January 2014, we have attracted thousands of readers each month, the site is constantly updated.
We have sections on Museums and Art Galleries, Transport, Food and Drink, Places to Stay, Security, Music, Sport, Books and many more.
There are also hundreds of links to interesting articles on our blog.
To find out more visit the website


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

Follow me on Twitter


Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

%d bloggers like this: