Home » Classical Music » Ashkenazy: Rachmaninov Project at the  Royal Festival Hall – 17 November 2016

Ashkenazy: Rachmaninov Project at the  Royal Festival Hall – 17 November 2016



Vladimir Ashkenazy’s exploration of Rachmaninov’s orchestral works culminates with the composer’s First Symphony.

The work is unified by the motif shaped by the Dies Irae of Gregorian chant, a stamp that would appear again and again in Rachmaninov’s works.

Other evening highlights are Tchaikovsky’s First Piano Concerto  performed by rising-star pianist Alice Sara Ott and Alexandr Borodin’s Prince Igor Overture.


Alexandr Borodin: Overture, Prince Igor

Peter Ilyich Tchaikovsky: Piano Concerto No.1


Sergey Rachmaninov: Symphony No.1


Philharmonia Orchestra

Vladimir Ashkenazy conductor

Alice Sara Ott piano

For more information or to book tickets, visit the Southbank Centre website here

London Visitors is the official blog for the Visiting London Guide .com website. The website was developed to bring practical advice and latest up to date news and reviews of events in London.
Since our launch in January 2014, we have attracted thousands of readers each month, the site is constantly updated.
We have sections on Museums and Art Galleries, Transport, Food and Drink, Places to Stay, Security, Music, Sport, Books and many more.
There are also hundreds of links to interesting articles on our blog.
To find out more visit the website


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

Follow me on Twitter


Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

%d bloggers like this: