Home » Classical Music » Daniel Harding and the London Symphony Orchestra at the Barbican – 9th June 2016

Daniel Harding and the London Symphony Orchestra at the Barbican – 9th June 2016

harding (1)

The LSO’s Principal Guest Conductor’s second concert this month contrasts an achingly poignant concerto with a pastoral folk-tinged symphony.

Returning to the LSO for the first time in 10 years, Lisa Batiashvili performs Bartók’s First Violin Concerto. Written for the composer’s true love violinist Stefi Geyer , the piece was  held back from performance for fifty years and  it remains a bitter-sweet masterpiece straight from the heart. Dvorak was a proud countryman, often drawing on the folk and dance tunes of his native Bohemia. His Eighth Symphony is perhaps the most joyous example of this, moving from the idyllic to the rustic.


Dvořák Overture: Othello

Bartók Violin Concerto No 1

Dvořák Symphony No 8


Daniel Harding conductor

Lisa Batiashvili violin

London Symphony Orchestra

If you would like further information or book tickets, visit the Barbican website here

London Visitors is the official blog for the Visiting London Guide .com website. The website was developed to bring practical advice and latest up to date news and reviews of events in London.
Since our launch in January 2014, we have attracted thousands of readers each month, the site is constantly updated.
We have sections on Museums and Art Galleries, Transport, Food and Drink, Places to Stay, Security, Music, Sport, Books and many more.
There are also hundreds of links to interesting articles on our blog.
To find out more visit the website


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Follow me on Twitter


Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

%d bloggers like this: