Home » Classical Music » Sakari Oramo and the BBC Symphony Orchestra at the Barbican – 21st May 2016

Sakari Oramo and the BBC Symphony Orchestra at the Barbican – 21st May 2016


The ever popular Finnish conductor, Sakari Oramo conducts two masterpieces from 1936, composed under the looming threat of war.

Vaughan Williams’s plea for peace features Australian baritone Duncan Rock and the BBC Symphony Chorus, while Bartók’s fabulous, folk-inflected violin concerto is performed by the acclaimed violinist Alina Ibragimova. The evening opens with a premiere from the  British composer, Joseph Phibbs.


Joseph Phibbs new work (BBC co-commission: world premiere)

Bartok Violin Concerto No 2

Vaughan Williams Dona nobis pacem


BBC Symphony Orchestra

Sakari Oramo conductor

Alina Ibragimova violin

Sarah Fox soprano

Duncan Rock Baritone

BBC Symphony Chorus

If you would like further information or book tickets, visit the Barbican website here

London Visitors is the official blog for the Visiting London Guide .com website. The website was developed to bring practical advice and latest up to date news and reviews of events in London.
Since our launch in January 2014, we have attracted thousands of readers each month, the site is constantly updated.
We have sections on Museums and Art Galleries, Transport, Food and Drink, Places to Stay, Security, Music, Sport, Books and many more.
There are also hundreds of links to interesting articles on our blog.
To find out more visit the website


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Follow me on Twitter


Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

%d bloggers like this: