Home » Classical Music » Rachmaninov Project at the Royal Festival Hall – 14th April 2016

Rachmaninov Project at the Royal Festival Hall – 14th April 2016



Vladimir Ashkenazy  leads the Philharmonia Orchestra into the evening with  Rachmaninov’s Symphonic Dances one of the highlights.

The programme begins with the composer’s The Isle of the Dead and Sergey Prokofiev: Piano Concerto No.2  before sequences of  march rhythms,  nostalgia and a demonic finale, capped by Rachmaninov’s musical spectre, the Dies Irae (‘Day of Judgement’) chant.


Sergey Rachmaninov: The Isle of the Dead

Sergey Prokofiev: Piano Concerto No.2


Sergey Rachmaninov: Symphonic Dances


Philharmonia Orchestra

Vladimir Ashkenazy conductor

Boris Berezovsky piano

If you would like further information or book tickets, visit the Southbank website here

London Visitors is the official blog for the Visiting London Guide .com website. The website was developed to bring practical advice and latest up to date news and reviews of events in London.
Since our launch in January 2014, we have attracted thousands of readers each month, the site is constantly updated.
We have sections on Museums and Art Galleries, Transport, Food and Drink, Places to Stay, Security, Music, Sport, Books and many more.
There are also hundreds of links to interesting articles on our blog.
To find out more visit the website


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

Follow me on Twitter


Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

%d bloggers like this: