Home » Classical Music » Thomas Adès and the London Symphony Orchestra at the Barbican – 16th March 2016

Thomas Adès and the London Symphony Orchestra at the Barbican – 16th March 2016



In recent years composer-conductor Thomas Adès has become an unstoppable creative force. In this LSO composer focus series he conducts his own works alongside the music that influenced and informed his development as a composer.

Adès’ Asyla is a four movement symphonic tour-de-force that explores the dual meaning of its title; ‘Asyla’ can be taken to mean both ‘sanctuary’ and ‘madhouse’. Its infamous fourth movement ‘Ecstasio’ evokes the primal, drug influenced atmosphere of a nightclub with its lucid orchestral textures and repetitive structures inspired by techno.

Asyla is presented alongside two works Adès has cited as being essential to its creation. Echoes of the glistening, crystalline textures of Sibelius’ Violin Concerto can be heard throughout Asyla and much of Adès’ output. The haunting slow movement of Franck’s lyrical Symphony in D minor provides a skeletal model around which the second movement of Asyla is formed.


Thomas Adès Asyla

Sibelius Violin Concerto

Franck Symphony in D minor


Thomas Adès conductor

Christian Tetzlaff violin

London Symphony Orchestra

If you would like further information or book tickets, visit the Barbican website here

London Visitors is the official blog for the Visiting London Guide .com website. The website was developed to bring practical advice and latest up to date news and reviews of events in London.
Since our launch in January 2014, we have attracted thousands of readers each month, the site is constantly updated.
We have sections on Museums and Art Galleries, Transport, Food and Drink, Places to Stay, Security, Music, Sport, Books and many more.
There are also hundreds of links to interesting articles on our blog.
To find out more visit the website


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Follow me on Twitter


Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

%d bloggers like this: