Home » Classical Music » Sir Andrew Davis and the BBC Symphony Orchestra at the Barbican – 22nd January 2016

Sir Andrew Davis and the BBC Symphony Orchestra at the Barbican – 22nd January 2016



Conductor Laureate Sir Andrew Davis takes on Berlioz’s complete ‘dramatic symphony’, a re-telling of Shakespeare’s popular tragedy.

Berlioz’s epic Romeo and Juliet was made possible by a gift of 20,000 francs from the violinist Nicoló Paganini, and turned out to be one of his most enduring masterpieces. He came to view the Love Scene as one of his own favourite compositions, though he warned that it was hugely demanding and required ‘long, patient rehearsal, impeccably directed’, which is just what you can expect from Davis, the BBC Symphony Orchestra and Chorus.


Berlioz Romeo and Juliet


BBC Symphony Orchestra

BBC Symphony Chorus

Sir Andrew Davis conductor

Michèle Losier mezzo soprano

Samuel Boden tenor

David Soar bass

If you would like further information or book tickets, visit the Barbican website here

London Visitors is the official blog for the Visiting London Guide .com website. The website was developed to bring practical advice and latest up to date news and reviews of events in London.
Since our launch in 2014, we have attracted thousands of readers each month, the site is constantly updated.
We have sections on Museums and Art Galleries, Transport, Food and Drink, Places to Stay, Security, Music, Sport, Books and many more.
There are also hundreds of links to interesting articles on our blog.
To find out more visit the website here




Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Follow me on Twitter


Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

%d bloggers like this: