Home » Classical Music » Sakari Oramo and the BBC Symphony Orchestra at the Barbican – 11th December 2015

Sakari Oramo and the BBC Symphony Orchestra at the Barbican – 11th December 2015



Chief conductor Sakari Oramo leads the ascent of two great orchestral mountains by Hovhaness and Strauss, which frame a delightful new percussion concerto.

Mysterious Mountain is one of Alan Hovhaness’s best-loved works, a symphony of spiritual transcendence and the perfect foil to Strauss’s grandly ambitious alpine adventure. Dubbed ‘the world’s finest and most daring percussionist’ Colin Currie is the dedicatee of Switch, a new work from the exciting young American composer Andrew Norman.


Hovhaness Symphony No 2, Mysterious Mountain
Andrew Norman Switch (BBC co-commission; UK Premiere)
Strauss An Alpine symphony


BBC Symphony Orchestra
Sakari Oramo conductor
Colin Currie percussion

If you would like further information or book tickets, visit the Barbican website here

London Visitors is the official blog for the Visiting London Guide .com website. The website was developed to bring practical advice and latest up to date news and reviews of events in London.
Since our launch in 2014, we have attracted thousands of readers each month, the site is constantly updated.
We have sections on Museums and Art Galleries, Transport, Food and Drink, Places to Stay, Security, Music, Sport, Books and many more.
There are also hundreds of links to interesting articles on our blog.
To find out more visit the website here

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

Follow me on Twitter


Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

%d bloggers like this: