Home » Museums and Art Galleries of London » The Turner Prize Shortlist is Announced – Tate Britain

The Turner Prize Shortlist is Announced – Tate Britain


The Invitation to the first Turner Prize 1984 (Tate)

Tate Britain today announced the four artists who have been shortlisted for the Turner Prize 2014. The artists are Duncan Campbell, Ciara Phillips, James Richards and Tris Vonna-Michell.  

This year marks the 30th year of the Turner Prize, founded in 1984 to promote discussion of new developments in contemporary British art. The competition organisers believe the variety of media used by the four shortlisted artists this year reflects the diversity of work being made in the UK today, from film and video to performance, collaborative working and installation.

The shortlist reflects Artists whose work  manipulates  film footage and online imagery,  the many contrasting approaches on these themes is considered related to the impact of the internet, cinema, TV and mobile technologies on a new generation of artists.

Penelope Curtis, Director of Tate Britain and Chair of the Jury said: “This year’s nominations illustrate the mobility of the contemporary art world, in which works are seen at global biennales and festivals over the course of the year. The four shortlisted artists share a strong international presence and an ability to adapt, restage and reinterpret their own and others’ works, very often working in a collaborative social contexts.”


Ciara Phillips

Duncan campbell

Duncan Campbell


James Richards

tris vonn

Tris Vonna-Michell

The Turner Prize award is £40,000 with £25,000 going to the winner and £5,000 each for the other shortlisted artists. The Prize, established in 1984, is awarded to a British artist under fifty for an outstanding exhibition or other presentation of their work in the twelve months preceding 17 April 2014. It is intended to promote public discussion of new developments in contemporary British art and is widely recognised as one of the most important and prestigious awards for the visual arts in Europe.

The Turner Prize 2014 exhibition takes place at Tate Britain from 30 September 2014 to 4 January 2015. The winner will be announced at an awards ceremony, broadcast live on Channel 4 on Monday 1 December 2014.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Follow me on Twitter


Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

%d bloggers like this: